Pediatric Aural-Ingestology

This semester, CJ has a late afternoon class Wednesdays, so I come home early to watch the girls.  As a result, Dad is in charge of dinner.

This week, CJ suggested that I make mac & cheese, a favorite childhood dish of mine, and one that I don’t make very often anymore (mostly because I’m about the only one that will eat it, and I can’t – ok, shouldn’t – eat the whole box myself).  I actually enticed Katherine into eating a small portion (she used to love it when she was 2 & 3), and offered some to Lucy.  Lucy took one look at it, and the head flipped around 180 degrees.  “Nah-uh, Dad, there’s no way you’re getting me to eat that!”

Later that evening, when CJ returned and was tucking Katherine into bed, she asked what we had for dinner, and Katherine told her.  She asked if I was able to get Lucy to eat any of the max & cheese.  Katherine replied, “I don’t know, but if she did she ate it without a fuss ‘cause there was no screaming at dinner tonight.”

Ah yes, a new science is born: Pediatric Aural-Ingestology.  The study of what your toddler ate, measured in decibels.

