She has a beep in her step

This past week CJ was grilling out while I played with the girls in the backyard.  Katherine and I were teaching Lucy the finer points of dodge-baseball – after the batter hits the ball, he or she runs around the yard laughing maniacally dodging the pitcher who is trying to tag them with the ball.  I was just starting to get exhausted when CJ called to me from the kitchen window.

“Mark, do you hear that beeping?”

I stopped and listened for a second.  “No, I don’t hear anything.”

“Well, there’s something beeping in here.”

I walked in, thinking it might have been one of the myriad alarms we have in the house – smoke, CO, water, UPS.  When I stepped into the kitchen, CJ said “Ok, it only seems to be beeping when I take a step.”  We both froze for a second, then she took a step.

*beep*

What the?  She took another step.

*beep* *beep*

I couldn’t yet get a bead on where the sound was coming from, but clearly we weren’t imagining things.

I jumped.

*beep*

I jumped a few more times.

*beep* *beep* *beep* *beep-beep-beep-beep-beep*

As I was jumping I was turning my head to try to at least get a direction for the sound.  After a few leaps we figured out it was coming from one of our drawers.  When we opened it, we found our digital kitchen timer was buried under a can opener.  The can opener had come to rest right on the buttons, which beep every time you hit them.  So, the walking and jumping was causing the can opener to bounce on the buttons, thus, beeping.

We both had a good chuckle.  If I ever get around to writing an action movie script, I am SO having the hero improvise a trembler switch using a can opener balanced on a kitchen timer.

