Mommy – don’t forget your pants!

CJ teaches Wednesday nights, so the Daddy parental unit flies solo.  Katherine is old enough now that she rarely bats an eye when she sees Mom leave for a few hours.  Lucy is starting to get over the “Mommy, Mommy, my kingdom for my Mommy” phase when CJ leaves her sight, but she still has her moments.

Yesterday, CJ laid out a couple of outfit choices on our bed before she picked one.  She dressed, grabbed her bag and headed out.  Lucy was upset, but at least a full-on meltdown did not manifest itself.

About 10 minutes later, as I was working on the dishes, Lucy came walking into the kitchen calling, “Mommy?  Mommy?  Mommy?”

“Lucy, Mom’s at work, remember?  She’ll be home tonight.”  Just as I finished that sentence I turned to see Lucy holding one of CJ’s shirts – the one that CJ laid out on the bed, but didn’t select.  I laughed, “Hey!  You’ve got Mom’s shirt.  Can you put that back on the bed?”

Lucy looks at me briefly, turns and nearly runs back into the bedroom.  A minute later she re-appears in the kitchen urgently calling, “Mommy!  Mommy!”  I turned to see her dragging the pants that CJ had laid out.

I laughed harder.  “Lucy, it’s ok, Mommy has some different pants on.  Please go put those back on the bed.”  She did.

You gotta give her some props for trying to make sure CJ remembered the important stuff.

