Thanksgiving 2010

The news in the last few years has been fairly depressing – wars, unemployment, whacked-out politicians – all make for very scary bedtime reading.  This past week (with Thanksgiving just around the corner), I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about the things I’m thankful for in spite of that depressing news:

  • My wife and I have been happily married for nearly 15 years.
  • We have two beautiful, smart, and funny daughters.
  • We have jobs that provide food, clean running water, and electricity consistently.
  • We have a good house to come home to every night.
  • We are all in generally good health.
  • We live in a city and country where we aren’t being pummeled with mortars, suicide-bombers, or drug-trafficking gunfire.
  • We don’t have to contend with hurricanes, earthquakes, flooding, tsunamis, forest fires, or landslides.

This list is by no means complete.  I think about the billions of people around the world – and I don’t use that number lightly – that can’t claim to have all of this.  Sure, I have problems and things that frustrate me daily, but when I compare them to not having one of the items above, those problems get put into perspective. 

Lord, you’ve blessed me and my family with so much.  Please show us where we should be putting our time and energy.

