Lucy, Project Manager

Earlier today, Lucy was playing with her Polly Pocket dolls in the living room while CJ and I were talking.  For those of you not familiar with them, Polly Pockets are small dolls, no more than 4 inches tall, and come with a dizzying array of clothes and accessories.  The dolls are hard plastic (but posable), while the accessories are very flexible, and fairly tacky to the touch.  As a result, it’s a bit challenging at times to get them dressed and undressed.

Lucy was having problems getting a couple of them dressed when she turned around, and happened to notice us.  She walked up to CJ, handed her a doll and a dress and asked, “Mommy, can you dress her?”  Then she walked up to me, handed me another doll and another dress, and asked, “Daddy, can you dress her?” 

CJ started laughing – “She’s delegating her work – she’s allocating her resources!  She’ll be a terrific project manager.”

Oh dear.  The next few years flashed through my eyes:

“Sorry Daddy.  You’re a little late on delivering that doll.  What tools or resources do you need to do it 2 minutes faster next time?”

“Mom, your car will be idle this Friday night.  I think I can put it to good use, and bump up the ROI a bit.”

“No, Dad.  I don’t have enough time to clean up my bedroom and fold my clothes.  It’s not really my core competency anyway, so I think I’ll just subcontract it out.”

Sigh.

I guess I’ll have to start paying more attention to her drawings now.  If something like a Gantt chart emerges, I think we’re going to have a little talk.

