Merry Moments from the Gilbert Household

Mark: Lucy, your bunny is eating Katherine. Is that okay?

Lucy: Yeah.

***

Katie: I know… I know… No joy-reading until my homework is done.

***

CJ: Oddly enough, they don’t have “Nerf War” in here.

(On attempting to record her physical activity for the day in an online journal)

***

CJ: Have you gotten to the natural disasters unit yet in social studies, Katherine?

Katie: No, we’re in Canada.

***

Lucy: Katherine, where are the heads? I need the heads… Just the heads…

(They were playing Legos… really!)

***

The dining room lights flicker

Lucy: Was that lightning?

Mark & CJ (in unison): No, that was Katherine.

***

CJ: So what have you two been up to?

Mark: We were putting camels in the helicopter.

Lucy: It was Dad’s idea – not mine!

Mark: As long as they face forward, their heads clear the rotors!

***

CJ: That’s what we need – a video game that sends tsunamis, tornados, natural disasters after you so you have to RUN to get away.

Katie: No, send me after them… I AM a natural disaster. [Cue maniacal laughter]

***

(Lucy appears in the doorway as CJ and Katie get ready to leave for an event.)

Lucy: I have a lot to take care of: eight sons, five daughters, and a husband and a baby.

CJ: Wow, so Dad will really need to help you tonight.

Katie: But he’s not allowed to wear my apron while I’m gone!

***

As the unsuspecting parents prepare dinner in the kitchen, Katie and Lucy are in the living room, plotting… er, playing:

Lucy: You give me orders for how to freak them [the parents] out.

Katie [in Golem’s voice] “Yessss, preciousss…. Freak them out, precioussss…”

***

Mark: It is I – your nutty nemesis!

(Narrating the internal monologue of a squirrel who dropped from a tree)

***

CJ: Daddy’s been delivering the funny since 1975!

***

[Lucy is playing by herself while CJ rubs Mark’s shoulders after work. CJ leans forward to tell Mark, “I love you!”]

Lucy: Are you going to kiss him?

CJ: Maybe. Why do you ask?

Lucy: It just creeps me out.

 

 

Wishing you all some Happy Holidays – filled with all the fun, crazy, and yes, creepy, moments that make for wonderful memories!

