I asked for it

A few days ago, Lucy was working on her first-grade homework at the table. I happened to look over from my work, and I saw that she had skipped a word in her answer.

“Lucy, did you mean to write ‘Max lost in the park’?”

Lucy sighed and flipped her pencil around to begin erasing the entire sentence.

“Wait, Lucy, you don’t have to erase it all. You can just insert the missing word with a caret.”

I expected her to ask me what a “caret” was, but she didn’t. Instead, she just wrote the missing word right above where it should have gone… and then she wrote something else below it.

With a mischievous grin, she slid the paper over to me, and then I saw what she had written.

10

Lucy had inserted the word along with the drawing of a carrot.  Just like her mama had suggested!

